Goa News

Parsekar included in BJP’s election panel

Parsekar included in BJP’s election panel

14 Mar 2019 No comment 34 hits



Informing that the Prime Minister, Narendra Modi and other senior Bharatiya Janata Party leaders including Nitin Gadkari, Rajnath Singh and Smriti Irani would be addressing public meetings in Goa, during the Lok Sabha election campaign of the party in the state, the president of state BJP, Vinay Tendulkar on Thursday announced a 16-member state election committee headed by him, and including the ex-Mandrem MLA of the party Laxmikant Parsekar.

Tendulkar, addressing a press conference at the city BJP headquarters along with the Power Minister Nilesh Cabral, said that the committee would finalise names of BJP candidates for the Lok Sabha election in Goa as well as party’s candidates for Mandrem, Shiroda and Mapusa by-polls.

The committee includes Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar, the two Members of Parliament of the party from Goa namely Shripad Naik and Narendra Sawaikar, and state organisational secretary of the BJP, Satish Dhond, among others.

“Myself, and Dhond will attend the meeting of the central election committee of the party, at New Delhi scheduled on March 18, and present the list of 5 candidates finalised by the state election committee,” Tendulkar stated, adding that these names need to be endorsed by the central election committee of the party.

The state BJP president further said that the state BJP unit has requested the Prime Minister to address a public rally in Goa, during the second week of April, and he would respond as per his campaign schedule.

Replying to a question, Tendulkar said that Parsekar has been included in the state election committee as a senior party leader, and he has already assured that he would stay with the party, and campaign in favour of the party’s candidates for the Lok Sabha polls as well as by-elections in the three assembly constituencies.

Source: Parsekar included in BJP’s election panel

Pin It

Add comment

Security code